8 August 2007. Wednesday. Sunny. I’m still alive!

*LOL* Pardon me for the blog entry title, but i guess that is what i should say since i haven’t updated this blog for ages… So what happened this few months? Erm… I began to learn what it means to be an authentic Christian, i got transferred to another department, dealing with my own insecurities as i toil (ok lah, that’s an exaggeration) at my new department… lots happened but thank God that i can be hidden with Christ in God (Col 3:3).

You know what? I didn’t live as an authentic Christian, methinks. This revelation came to me when I sat thru the May Adult Fellowship session. A simple recap of what i learnt:

What authentic Christianity is not:
1) To equate spiritual accomplishment with relationship with God
– i fell into this mental snare as a young Christian. I was one of the first in my Foundation Class to start serving (first in events, then as a Motivator), went for mission trips, etc. And i thought that it meant that i got things right. Hey, if i am given serving portions, it means that my relationship with God is right, isn’t that wight Wrong. But that was what I thought. And now, as I see my peers and even younger siblings growing in their service, i know that my focus was on the wrong things…
2) To equate spiritual effectiveness we have on others with relationship with God
– Erm… I don’t really have a problem with this, ’cause I don’t think I have much of an influence on others. Ha.
3) Activating relationship with God in the Christian community
– Hmmm… Do i?

What authentic Christianity is:
Our relationship with God = God and God alone
– I think I must consistently ask myself if I am growing in my relationship with God. I just attended a session the past Monday, where a sister’s exhortation kinda disturbed me. Sometimes we think that having our regular Quiet Time (which i try very much to keep to) and prayer means that our relationship with God is alright. But do we really know God in our every day? Do i experience that daily encountering of God with a personal revelation of His word through my meditation, or encountering His presence as I spend time in closet prayer? I can say candidly that during this period, I don’t. In fact, it frustrates me that my heart has greater affections for a physical yet unfamiliar person than the intangible yet personal God. But I am keeping at my spiritual disciplines. I can only ask that He let me encounter Him. Every day and in things that are everyday.

This entry was posted in Random thoughts, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8 August 2007. Wednesday. Sunny. I’m still alive!

  1. Ying says:

    Ha sis,u do hav influence on me.See your helpfulness,caring,sensitivityespecially to me.hee.privilege i am.Truly is outflow from God. If it’s not your relationship with God, you won’t have part of His character right? 😉 Persevere on with the humble attitude upon wanting the will of God be yours. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.(Jn16:24)

Leave a Reply

