Reflections on Matthew 11:28-30

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

Matt 11:28-30

When Jesus calls us to take His yoke upon our shoulders, He’s right there beside us, sharing the weight of the yoke. He does not add to us an extra burden, even if it’s light. Rather, He transfers our burden onto His yoke, steps beside us, pulls the yoke and our burden, and says, ‘I will give you rest’. In fact, the yoke can be easy and the burden light only because He’s there – the weight of our trouble and toil are on Him. But we would need humility to say, ‘Jesus, I can’t do it. Help me’, and respond to His invitation of ‘Come’.

Perhaps it’s under such burdening circumstances that we turn to Jesus and journey with Him as we yoke with Him. It’s opportunity for intimacy with our Lord and Saviour.

***

Click here for the post ‘Further reflections on Matthew 11:28-30‘.

This entry was posted in Word of God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

