Galatians – Afterthought

featured-bible

I had never thought that my belief that I should live for myself would be challenged and shaken so quickly but it has. The recently concluded sermon series in the book of Galatians has brought about this effect, harkening back to the verse that I kept as my Daily Perspective many years ago. Galatians 2:20 says, “I have been crucified with Christ, and I no longer live but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Because of my natural temperament, I’m a sucker for laws and rules, and I know how sometimes overzealousness for the law can turn one into a legalist. But as the letter to the Galatians tells us, the law that we could not keep has been fulfilled in Christ, the promise of righteousness delivered by faith in Christ and now we have the Holy Spirit to teach us how to live crucified with Christ. What an incredibly liberating truth! That’s why the book of Galatians continually exhorts us to live by the Spirit, walk by the Spirit, and  keep in step with the Spirit.

It’s difficult to think about how to reach my full potential and pursue opportunities when I know that I have the Spirit of Christ to enable me to live with passions crucified. There are still many interests that I would like to try out and curiosities to satisfy, but I must learn to rein them in so that the boundaries that I told myself to keep would still stand and the focus is back on Christ in me and bearing the fruit of the Spirit.

This entry was posted in Random thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

