19 Sep 06. Tuesday. Physically tired…

Had a few ‘revelations’ from the Lord this week. Been wanting to blog them but just too tired, too busy, too languorous to do so. In other words, updating the blog isn’t a priority when other things are more important and urgent in life. So right now, I’m sacrificing 30 minutes of sleep to blog this entry…

I was just travelling on the bus, contemplating on the many responsibilities on my plate as I served in Church. Suddenly, I felt this ‘connection’ with the elder brother in the parable of the prodigal son. I suppose I have always projected myself as a responsible person whom others can count on to get things done. Like the elder brother, I worked hard, and at that point, I guess I just felt self-pity for all the things that I have to do. I wished I could be like the younger son instead – to be a little reckless, enjoy life a bit more, and perhaps even be a little rebellious. Hey, he got to enjoy all those pleasures, yet returned to enjoy all that he turned his back on. Some people just have the easy way…

Then of course, I recalled the lessons learned from the meditation on this parable. The elder son never realised that the father has always been with him, and he looked upon himself as though he was just a hired hand. Perhaps he had just been working for the approval of the father, when the father has always loved him unconditionally because he’s his son. In the end, the elder son was probably the one who was really ‘lost’ since he did not understand his identity as a son and tried to gain his place through works.

It was one of those times when I realised how I needed to see myself as my Abba’s child so that my motivation in serving is right. And my Abba chose to speak to me through my reflections that day. That’s His love for me.

This entry was posted in Random thoughts, Word of God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment