He grants sleep to those He loves

It’s 4am in the morning and I’ve been awake for the last hour. I woke up with this swelling in my little finger, and it caused me enough discomfort that I couldn’t go back to sleep. I was exasperated because I haven’t been sleeping well. Maybe it’s the weather, maybe it’s work (it’s the dreaded Annual Report period again), maybe it’s the new bedsheets (should have washed before using). In my vain attempt to fall asleep again, I argued with God. How can I work if I can’t get enough rest? I’ve been so tired at work since last week. But I realised that I’ve placed too much confidence in sleep itself, so I prayed that God will sustain me at work. And He reminded me of something, so I did a search:

In vain you rise early
and stay up late,
toiling for food to eat—
for he grants sleep to those he loves.

Psalm 127:2

Ah… in vain have I stayed up so long. Did I toil for food to eat? Well, I’m just trying to make a living. But it’s the last part that I am going to cling on to.

Abba, I know that You love me, so grant me good, deep sleep.  Enough to give me rest from my labour and strength for another day. Thank you Father. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

P.S: Please pray for me that I will get adequate rest. Thank you. 🙂

This entry was posted in Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment